Unplanned

This wasn’t supposed to happen until 2012, but I guess it’s fitting that I carry my motto of being consistently inconsistent over here.  I like fresh starts (maybe a little too much) and I just couldn’t wait 34 more days to break in this blog.  If you read my “other blog that shall remain nameless,” you’ll be seeing my retirement post over there soon.

In a nutshell, Thanksgiving was a food and booze fest.  I stupidly weighed myself on Wednesday morning and then again on Saturday morning.

I gained four pounds.

I’m really not surprised, considering I ate enough food and drank enough beer, wine and hurricanes to choke at least three horses.  Everything in moderation?  Um, not so much this weekend.  I did manage to run 2.5 miles on Friday but that was pretty much it.  Naturally,  I woke up Sunday feeling like a cow so my all consuming urge to eat healthy and exercise kicked in.  This will last for approximately four days.

Sunday morning I made quinoa cereal.  I like quinoa and have been looking for other ways to eat it (other than as a side dish at supper or mixed into a green salad) so I thought I’d give this a try.

Quinoa Cereal (adapted from Whole Living)

(source)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups skim milk

1/2 cup rinsed quinoa

1 tsp honey

Pinch of ground cinnamon

1 sliced banana

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1 T chia seeds

Sprinkling of sliced almonds

Directions:

Bring milk and quinoa to a boil in a small saucepan.  Simmer, covered, until most of the milk is absorbed, about 14 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in honey, cinnamon and dried cranberries.  Top with sliced banana, chia seeds and almonds.

This was delicious and super filling.  I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.  It’s a nice change from oatmeal.

Lunch was a spinach salad with cherry tomatoes, cucumber and pepper jack cheese and a slice of leftover pizza with pepperoni and cherry peppers.  We don’t eat a lot of red meat but we were all pretty sick of poultry so I cubed up two strip steaks that I had in the fridge and made a quick Beef Stroganoff with a side salad for supper.  This Beef Stroganoff recipe is the easiest you will ever make.  Take 1 1/2 lbs of stewing beef (or cube up any cut of beef you have on hand) and mix it up with one can of Cream of Mushroom soup, one packet of dry onion soup mix (I used onion mushroom this time) and about a half of the soup can of milk.  Stir it all together until all the beef is well coated.  Spread it all out into a baking dish and pop it in the oven at 375 for about 45 minutes.  Serve over egg noodles or rice.  I add a dollop of sour cream and a dash of hot sauce to my serving.  It’s delicious and very satisfying.

It rained all the live long day.  I kept waiting for a break in the weather to get out and run but that break never came.  Normally, I would have used this as an excuse to stay on the couch watching football, but around 3:30 I got up, threw on my shoes and headed out the door.  I ran 3.1 miles in 35 minutes in the rain!  It felt great.  I was soaked and my hair was a wreck when I was done but I didn’t care.  I guzzled a glass of chocolate milk, took a nice, hot shower then made supper in my pajamas.  I celebrated my running triumph with a glass of Cupcake Sauvignon Blanc.

I had a hard time falling asleep (thanks to the 2.5 hour nap I took) but I think I was out by 11:30.   I sure wasn’t happy to hear that alarm go off at 5:45 this morning…

Did you overeat this weekend?

Do you tend to start a new diet or exercise plan after Thanksgiving?  Or do you just wait until the first of the year?

Leave a Reply

