That’s What Friends Are For?

Do they make a card that says, “I’m sorry I wouldn’t help you cheat your way into a job by taking those tests for you?”  If they do, I need one.

Yesterday was a pretty decent day.  I ate well (oatmeal with fruit for breakfast, leftover beef stroganoff for lunch, tortellini with spinach, artichokes and pesto for dinner) and I ran (2.01 miles in 22 minutes!) in the rain again.  Just as I was walking up my driveway from my run, I got an email from a “friend” (I use the term “friend” loosely here) asking me to do her “a HUGE favor.”  That favor was taking two tests (one on Excel and the other on Word) on her behalf to help her get a job she had interviewed for.  Yep, you read that right.  She continually applies for jobs that she’s not qualified for, scams her way through the interview, lies on her resume about a business degree that she never earned and job experience that she doesn’t have, gets the job and then either quits or gets fired because she can’t do the work.  And now she wants me to help her do it again.  I don’t think so.  I hadn’t heard from her in months before we saw her and her husband twice this weekend and now she had emailed, texted and called me all within a matter of hours.  And all because she needed a favor.  I politely refused and she didn’t respond.  I’m certain it will be months before I hear from her again.

That one thing burned me up for the rest of the night and pretty much undid my entire day.  All of my frustration went away, however, when I climbed into bed.  Oh, did I not mention?  I bought this yesterday:

Fiber Bed

(source)

A Fiber Bed.  You put this bad boy on top of your mattress and under your top sheet and it’s like you are sleeping on a cloud.  And with my 20% off coupon from Bed, Bath and Beyond, it was even more heavenly.  My daughter now wants one for Christmas.  Good thing I have another coupon…

Speaking of Christmas, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas around here!

New Tree

We always buy a real tree, but for years (since we moved into this house seven years ago) we’ve discussed getting a fake one for the living room and continuing with the tradition of a real tree in the family room.  Every year we’d say we’d pick one up on sale after the holidays and we never would.  Yesterday, while my husband was wandering around Lowe’s (yes, he does that a lot) he saw this tree and fell in love with it.  Unfortunately, the only one they had left in the store was the floor model.  Fortunately, they gave him a huge discount on it and it’s now in my living room!  I need to pick up some bulbs for it but isn’t it pretty?

Do you have “friends” who only seem to come around when they need something?  How do you handle them?

Real tree or fake tree?

4 thoughts on “That’s What Friends Are For?

  1. Susan says:

    I really don’t have friends like that. So sorry you do, though. It stinks and puts you in a really bad position a lot of the time. STINKS!

    Real tree all the way!

    • Lori says:

      You’re lucky you don’t have friends like that. Seriously. It’s emotionally draining.

      I’m with you on the real tree! Always have had one, always will. But my new fake tree in the living room sure is purty!

  2. Whaaaaaat? That’s crazy talk. Craze-eeee-talk.
    Real tree. But I haven’t decided if I’m getting a tree this year. But if so, real. They are all so unique and smell like Christmas!

    • Lori says:

      Way crazy. I’ve decided I don’t need people like that in my life. Time to move on.

      LOVE the smell of a real tree! We’ll have the best of both worlds this year.

Leave a Reply

