Building an Ark

Apparently, it’s monsoon season here in Michigan.  It has rained non-stop since Sunday and this morning Mother Nature threw in a little snow to go with it.  Streets, lawns, backyards, basements – all flooded.  I had to take an alternate route to school this morning because the freeway I normally take was shut down due to flooding. 

Flooded Southfield Fwy 11-30-11(source)

Thank God we got our roof leak taken care of last week and we’ve had no problems during the current downpour.

Yesterday started off decent enough.  Breakfast was a smoothie of frozen banana, frozen mixed berries, coconut milk, vanilla soy protein powder, Chia seeds and plain Greek yogurt along with a tumbler of Tazo Awake tea.  Lunch was leftover cheese tortellini with marinara, spinach and pesto.  When I got home from work, I wasn’t really hungry and I had no ambition to cook anything.  Thanks to the aforementioned rain and flooding my evening run was out (I really need a treadmill), so I hit the floor to do some stretching and get my plank in for the Plank A Day challenge.

Plank(source)

Then, I poured a glass of wine and laid down on the couch – big mistake.  I had no desire to do anything after that.  I did manage to make my daughter a cheese quesadilla before she went to soccer practice and my husband and I enjoyed a ghetto fabulous dinner of nachos (tortilla chips and melted cheese) with a side of avocado (for me – he won’t touch the stuff).  That in itself isn’t horrible, but the five mini Reese’s cups that I inhaled shortly before bed pretty much undid my day.  I blame PMS.

I slept pretty good until 3:45am when I woke up to go to the bathroom.  After that, I could not fall back to sleep.  The alarm went off at 5:30am and it took everything I had to climb out of my warm, cozy bed.  I did manage to get up and headed off to school.  Only one more class this semester!

Runners, do you run on a treadmill in the winter?  Or do you continue to run outside in the cold and snow?  Do you own a treadmill or do you go to a gym?

Any fellow students out there?  How is your semester going?  What are you studying?

Leave a Reply

