Hack

My head cold has migrated south and it now feels like a 5,000 pound gorilla is sitting on my chest.  And I’ve lost my voice, which I actually don’t mind.  It’s kind of nice just waving to everybody and mouthing “I can’t talk.”  Fortunately, I don’t feel that bad today, so I’m not that irritated with myself that I came into work.  I have a ton of stuff to get to my boss by the end of the day tomorrow and then he is out of town the rest of the week.  That in itself is reward enough for pushing myself for the next two days.

I didn’t rest as much as I should have this weekend, which likely is the reason I’m still sick.  Friday night we went out to dinner and met a friend for drinks.  Has anyone ever tried Pinnacle Whipped Cream Vodka?  If you haven’t, DON’T.  This stuff tastes like candy but is actually poison that will make you hate yourself for days.  Don’t ask me how I know.  Saturday I woke up feeling horrible and running was out of the question.  I ended up spending the whole day cleaning and re-organizing my kitchen cabinets and pantry.  After making dinner (pan-seared tilapia, sauteed spinach and some yummy couscous-orzo-quinoa mixture I picked up at Trader Joe’s) my husband and I ventured out to Target and the grocery store.  We picked up a few ornaments for the new tree and got all of our grocery shopping done so we didn’t have to leave the couch on Sunday if we didn’t want to.   Saturday night I drugged myself (thank you, Alka Seltzer Plus Cold and Cough) and slept like a log.  Sunday I did nothing but watch football, which means once again no run.  I did get back on my plank bandwagon (I broke my streak when I missed Saturday) but that was about as much physical activity as I could manage.

Today is a rest day run-wise so my goal is to try to get as much work done as possible, go home, plank, make dinner and try to get some homework done.  Last class is Wednesday and my homework is due Friday.

How was your weekend?  Do anything exciting?

I did enjoy living vicariously (via Twitter) through all the runners that ran the RNR Vegas Marathon and 1/2.

Do you push yourself to get stuff done when you’re sick?  Or do you let your body rest?

I tend to push myself.  The last time I was really sick was the week of my grandfather’s funeral in January.  I seriously don’t know how I was still standing when it was over.  I held on to that chest cold for a month.  I really need to let my body rest when it needs it.

Leave a Reply

